認知障礙

造成認知障礙的成因有很多,最普通的成因是亞玆海默症,其次的是血管性痴呆,其他成因包括路易體痴呆、腦腫瘤、頭部受傷、過量使用毒品和酒精、和缺乏維他命B12等等。在長者的認知障礙個案中有大約百分十至十五是有潛在能力可逆轉的,因此,儘早尋求醫療意見,以便完成測試尋找逆轉的方法是很重要。

亞玆海默症 

亞玆海默症是頭腦的退化性紊亂,病徵可包括在記憶、認知能力、洞察力、語言和三維空間意識的問題。

随著時間,亞玆海默症有發展頗緩慢的傾向,病人開始逐漸地困惑和迷惘,特別是外出時。在家襄,他們做每天簡單的工作如穿衣、上洗手間和自己進食等等時都會遇到困難。

血管性痴呆

血管性痴呆又被稱為多處梗塞痴呆(MID) ,即是很多小中風的事件引致腦細胞組織受損。與亞玆海默症同,它接著一段相應康復期後時常有較大的逐步退化。語言和溝通方面可能比記憶更受影响,有可能出現由亞玆海默症和血管性痴呆兩者結合形成的混合認知障礙。

額顳葉失智症

額顳葉失智症有時被稱為額葉或匹克氏病,一般地可在四十五至六十五的年青人中找到,這病是比較罕見和難以診斷。它可引起失控和不恰當行為,尤其是在公眾地方,所以這類型的認知障礙可能會和其他診症有所混淆,例如抑鬱症、精神病或强迫性神經官能症。

路易體痴呆

在路易體痴呆中,認知的損傷可以有變動,但整體上會隨著時間逐漸地惡化。患有路易體痴呆的人可能會與患有柏金遜症的病人相似的病徵。行動和神經運動的控制例如嚥吞方面可能受影響,視覺或聽覺的幻覺會經常出現,記憶力往往少受影響,但突然一陣的混淆會出現。患有路易體痴呆的人在日間會有容易入睡的傾向,並且在夜間會有激烈的夢或惡夢以致睡眠被干擾。

年輕發性痴呆

診斷是時常意料之外的。對於喪失收入的家庭,這是特別有難處的。伴侶可能要放棄工作去照顧病者,當疾病增長時,甚至年輕的兒童可能也要担起照顧的角色。

病徵

在早期及在熟悉的地方,患有認知障礙的人士會很容易去掩飾他們的一些困難。

一些常見的病徵有:

記憶困難 — 短暫記憶是第一最常受影響,很困難去保存新訊息。他們可能會在熟悉的地方迷路和對名字感到混淆。家庭成員或要好朋友可能會首先察覺他們的記憶力退去。

認知能力 — 有認知障礙的人士會對不熟悉的環境感到困惑。他們對時間和地方定位可能會有困難,他們專注和分析的能力可能受影響,他們會有一種坐立不安的感覺,而且會情願繼續移動而想坐定下來。

溝通 — 他們時常有重複自己的傾向,使護理者或家庭成員感到不耐煩和難與他們共同生活。閱讀和書寫會變得困難。他們會在品性、行為、情緒波動、焦慮和抑鬱上有所改變,以致他們會對社交方面失去興趣。

在英國認知障礙的普遍狀況和影響範圍的比率

當我們越來越長壽,我們看見更多更多人有認知障礙,亞玆海默症協會(2015) 報告指出,現今有超過八十五萬有認知障礙的人在英國生活。在其中,大約四萬是年輕發性痴呆人士 ,到2025年,在英國有認知障礙的人士數目可能會上升至超過一百萬。

診斷對認知障礙仍然有重大意義,一個準確的診斷是必須的,可以令病者和護理者能及時地接受意見、支援和治療。

減少形成認知障礙的風險

建立一個健康的生活方式,例如戒除吸煙、健康飲食、定期運動和減少飲用酒精,可以減輕一些引致血管性障礙的風險。保持社交活躍、減少血內膽固醇和降低血壓會對身心健康有良好的作用,有話這樣說:什麼對心臟好的,也對腦袋好的。

污名

污名產生負面感受,而且時常是與認知障礙同住的人和護理者的最基本顧慮。污名的存在,部份是由於對疾病缺乏公眾意識和理解,導致認知障礙患者避免了:

當有病徵時尋求醫藥治療

接受一個早期診斷或任何診斷

當他們有能力可以做到時,有可能過最佳的生活

為他們未來做計劃

享受可獲得的治療

建立一個支援系统

参與疾病研究和臨床試驗

有用的連結

英國老年癡呆症

阿爾茨海默氏症協會

阿爾茨海默氏症協會

JCCPA:關於癡呆

該健康基金會:癡呆信息

病人:癡呆信息

AGE英國:癡呆信息

Dementia

There are many causes of dementia. The commonest cause is Alzheimer’s disease,  The second commonest cause is vascular dementia. Other causes include dementia with Lewy bodies, brain tumour, head injury, excessive drugs and alcohol use, as well as vitamin B12 deficiency, etc. About 10 to 15% of cases of dementia in the elderly are potentially reversible. Hence, it is important to seek medical advice early so that tests can be done to look for reversible causes.

Alzheimer’s disease  

Alzheimer’s disease is a degenerative disorder of the brain. The symptoms may include problems with memory, cognitive ability, insight, language and spatial awareness.

Alzheimer’s disease tends to develop quite slowly over time. The patients become progressively confused and disorientated especially when out.  At home they may encounter difficulty in performing everyday simple tasks such as getting dressed, going to toilet and feeding themselves etc.

Vascular dementia

Vascular dementia is also known as multi-infarct dementia (MID) which means that many repeated episodes of small strokes cause pockets of brain cell damage. Unlike Alzheimer’s disease, it often follows a more stepwise deterioration followed by a period of relative recovery. Language and communication may be more affected than memory. It is possible to have mixed dementia which is caused by a combination of Alzheimer’s disease and vascular dementia.

Frontotemporal dementia

Frontotemporal dementia is sometimes called frontal lobe or Pick’s disease which is more commonly found in younger people, between ages 45 and 65. It is relatively uncommon and can be difficult to diagnose. It can cause disinhibition and inappropriate behaviour, particularly in public so this form of dementia may be confused with other diagnoses such as depression, psychosis or obsessive compulsive disorder.

Dementia with Lewy Bodies

In Dementia with Lewy Bodies, cognitive impairment can fluctuate but on the whole progressively worsens over time. A person with Lewy Bodies may have symptoms similar to those experienced by patients with Parkinson’s disease. Movements and motor control including swallowing may be affected. Visual or auditory hallucinations are often present. Memory is often less affected but sudden bouts of confusion can occur. People with Lewy Bodies tend to fall asleep easily during the day and experience disrupted sleep at night together with having intense dreams or nightmares.

Young onset dementia

The diagnosis is often unexpected. It is particularly problematic for the family owing to the loss of income. The partner may have to give up work to care for the patient. Even young children may have to take on caring roles as the disease progresses.

Symptoms

In early stages and in familiar places it is easier for people with dementia to hide some of their difficulties.

Some of the common symptoms are:

Memory problems – short term memory is most often affected first with new information difficult to retain. They may get lost in familiar places and experience confusion with names. Family members or close friends may be the first one to notice their memory loss.

Cognitive ability – people with dementia may experience confusion in unfamiliar environments. They may also have difficulty in time as well as place orientation. Their ability to concentrate and to reason may be affected. They may get a sense of restlessness and prefer to keep moving than sitting still.

Communication – They often tend to repeat themselves which carers or family members may find annoying and difficult to live with. Reading and writing may become difficult. They may have changes in personality and behaviour, mood swings, anxiety and depression so they may lose interest in socialising.

Prevalence and incidence rates of dementia in the UK

We are seeing more and more people with dementia as we live longer and longer. The Alzheimer’s Society (2015) reports there are over 850,000 people living with dementia in the UK today.  Of these, approximately, 40,000 are people with young onset dementia.  The number of people living with dementia in the UK by 2025 may rise to over 1 million.

Dementia is still significantly under diagnosed. An accurate diagnosis is essential in order that patients and carers can receive timely advice, support and treatment.

Reduce the risk of developing dementia

Developing a healthy lifestyle such as giving up smoking, eating a healthy diet, regular exercise and reducing alcohol intake will mitigate some of the risks causing vascular dementia. Keeping socially active, reducing blood cholesterol and lowering blood pressure  will have a positive impact on health and well-being. It has been said what’s good for the heart is also good for the brain.

Stigma

Stigma causes negative feelings and is often a primary concern for the people living with dementia and their carers. Stigma exists partly because of the lack of public awareness and understanding of the diseases causing dementia preventing them from:

Seeking medical treatment when symptoms are present

Receiving an early diagnosis or any diagnosis at all

Living the best quality of life possible while they are able to do so

Making plans for their future

Benefiting from available treatments

Developing a support system

Participating in disease research and clinical trials

Useful links:

Dementia UK

Alzheimer’s Society

Alzheimer’s Association

JCCPA: About Dementia

The Health Foundation: Information on Dementia

Patient: Information on Dementia

AGE UK: Information on Dementia