英國健康服務

國民健康局(NHS)為在英國居住的病人提供基層,第二層和第三層醫療服務。

 

基層醫療

這是與國民健康局的首個接觸點。

家庭醫生診所每一個英國公民都可以在住區的一個家庭醫生診所登記及獲得免費診治服務。已被認可的避難者和難民也可以登記一位家庭醫生。在家庭醫生診所,你可以看醫生,也可以見當值護士,醫護助理,助產士,健康家訪員,高級護士和醫療助理。有些診所可能會提供物理治療師,輔導員,營養師的服務。你應該在做門診預約時,向接待員簡單解釋你的問題,好讓他們為你安排見最合適的人。

 

當需要緊急治療,你知道診所的電話號碼的話,聯絡你的家庭醫生。不知道電話號碼的話,用固網或流動電話打免費號碼111給NHS,或者打0300 311 2233聯絡英格蘭NHS。

 

遇上緊急事件或有生命危險,打999或者去醫院急診室。

 

牙醫診所  – 目前在英國,不是所有人都有在牙醫診所登記。你聯絡有NHS牙科服務的診所做NHS牙科預約,就可以得到NHS牙科治療。你最好是定期看牙醫,即使覺得口腔和牙齒沒什麼問題,也應該找牙醫作例行檢查,這樣就可以保持口腔,牙齒和牙齦健康,防止病痛。

 

有緊急需要,你也可以打電話聯絡你的牙醫。你沒有固定牙醫的話,有需要的,也可以在一般診所開放時間以外得到照顧和治療。你可以打你住區的緊急牙科服務的電話。你要是不知道電話號碼,就用固網電話或流動電話打111這個免費號碼聯絡NHS111,也可以打0300 311 2233聯絡英格蘭NHS。

 

社區藥房(藥劑師)社區藥房發放及檢查處方藥,向病人解釋醫生的處方,用法和副作用等。現在NHS很多處方都是通過電子處方服務發放。

他們是藥物方面的專家,運用專業知識,根據實際狀況,幫助你了解咳嗽,傷風,各種疼痛等常見問題,及就健康飲食,戒煙等提供意見。藥劑師也可以向你提供看醫生以外的可能處理方法,協助你決定是否需要找專業醫療人員。

 

他們會回收和適當處理已經不再需要的藥物。

 

驗眼眼鏡店 (驗光師) 驗光師檢查病人的眼睛, 檢驗視力,就視力問題提供意見,按需要配製眼鏡或隱形眼鏡。他們有關於青光眼,白內障及糖尿病等一般健康狀況的專業知識,需要時可以轉介紹病人去看醫療人員,在某些地區也可以轉介簡單的白內障病人接受醫院專科治療。

 

第二層醫療

第二層醫療是指較嚴重的醫療服務(自己選擇的或急診醫療),由醫院或第二層醫療機構裡的專科醫生提供。病人通常是由家庭醫生轉介。當需要作轉介時,家庭醫生會跟你討論。

第三層醫療   

第三層醫療有時候又稱專科醫療。由英格蘭NHS通過專科醫療委託程序安排。專科醫療由較少數的幾個專科醫療中心提供。治療的範圍包括泌尿科(腎病)等長期病患,住院精神病診治,初生嬰兒照料,以至較罕見的癌症,燒傷護理,遺傳醫學,兒童專科和心臟手勢等。病人通常是由第二層醫療機構轉介。

UK Health Services

NHS provides primary, secondary and tertiary care to patients living in United Kingdom (UK).

Primary care

This is the first point of contact with the NHS.

GP practices – Every UK citizen can register with a local General Practitioner (GP) in UK and receive free consultations. Registered asylum seekers and refugees can register with a GP as well. In a GP surgery, you will not only see doctors but you may also find practice nurses, health care assistants, midwives, health visitors, nurse practitioners or physician assistants. Some practices may provide additional services by physiotherapists, counsellors, dieticians etc. When you make an appointment at the reception, it is advisable to explain briefly to the receptionists what your problem is so that they can book you to see the most appropriate person.

For urgent medical treatment contact your GP practice on his or her usual number if you have their number. If not, call NHS by dialling 111 for free from any landline or mobile or contact NHS England on 0300 311 2233.

For emergency or life threatening conditions, dial 999 or attend A&E department.

Dental practices – Not everyone is registered with a dentist in UK at present. To get NHS dental treatment, just contact a practice providing NHS dentistry and ask for an NHS appointment. It is advisable that you see a dentist regularly for routine check-ups even if you are not experiencing any problems with your mouth or teeth. Attending regularly helps keep your mouth, teeth and gums in good health and pain free.

For urgent treatment, contact your dentist on his or her usual number. If you do not have a regular dentist, you can always get urgent care or be treated out of hours if clinically necessary. If you already have details of your local urgent dental service, call them. If not call NHS 111 by dialling 111 for free from any landline or mobile or contact NHS England on 0300 311 2233

Community pharmacies (Chemist) – Community pharmacists dispense and check prescriptions and provide advice to patients on the medicines that have been prescribed for them, for example, providing advice on how to take the medicines and advising on common side effects. Many NHS prescriptions are now issued via the Electronic Prescription Service.

They are experts in medicines and will use their clinical expertise, together with their practical knowledge to advise you on common problems such as coughs, colds, aches and pains, as well as healthy eating and stopping smoking. Pharmacists can also help you decide whether you need to see a health professional. They can help you consider the alternatives next time you are thinking of making a doctor’s appointment.

They take back medicines that are no longer required so the drugs can be disposed of correctly.

 

High street optometrists (Opticians) – Optometrists examine patients’ eyes, test their sight, give advice on visual problems and prescribe and fit spectacles or contact lenses when needed. They are trained to recognise diseases of the eye, such as glaucoma and cataract, as well as general health conditions such as diabetes. They refer patients to medical practitioners when necessary and in some areas they can refer simple cases of cataract directly to hospital specialists.

Secondary care

Secondary care is often acute healthcare (elective care or emergency care) provided by medical specialists in a hospital or other secondary care setting. Patients are usually referred from a primary care professional such as a GP. Your GP will discuss with you when you need a referral for specialist treatment.

Tertiary care   

Tertiary care is sometimes referred to as specialist care and this is commissioned directly by NHS England under their specialised commissioning programme for very specialised treatments. Specialised services are provided from relatively few specialist centres. Conditions treated range from long-term conditions, such as renal (kidney services), mental health care in secure settings and neonatal services, to rarer conditions such as uncommon cancers, burn care, medical genetics, specialised services for children and cardiac surgery. Patients are usually referred by secondary care specialists.